The Vent

Nursing isn’t natural,
I don’t care what they say.
Nursing isn’t natural,
Though they shove it in my face.
My boobies hurt, they’re sore all day, my shirt is soaked down front.
Nursing just ‘aint natural,
Nipples aren’t designed to chafe.

Nursing isn’t natural,
With this leechling on for hours.
Nursing isn’t natural,
Leaving me no time for showers.
My bra don’t fit, I want a beer, but no alcohol for me.
Nursing can’t be natural,
And believe me I’m no coward.

Nursing isn’t natural,
Lactation is such a stupid word.
Nursing isn’t natural,
My breast size is absurd.
It isn’t fun, but nonetheless when I look down at babe.
Nursing don’t come natural,
But I’ll keep going just for her.

There are some women whose nursing experience is positive from day one. I am not that woman. Nursing my baby was hard. I took it day by day, and it wan’t until three months had passed that it started getting easier. Now I can pop a cover on and feed her wherever, whenever. But I still remember those days of frustration and crying—exhaustion and pain.

The me now would love to go back and give the me then a hug. Instead I wrote this poem, poking fun at myself and injecting humor into a situation that wasn’t funny at the time. I don’t write poetry, or even read it much, and I know my style is juvenile. What can I say, I’ve read a lot of Shel Silverstein (my stab at poetry does not compare.)

2 Responses

  1. Hey, I’ve been there. It made me smile tonight. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Stacie! I was tickled while writing it so I’m glad it put a smile on someone else’s face too. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

