The Journey

I am from arroz con leche, the creamy and sweet milk dessert that could replace ambrosia as the food for you-know-who. From Royal Dansk Danish cookies in the blue tin for Christmas and Micheal Jackson records danced to behind locked doors.

I am from telenovelas and a bar where everybody knew my name, both languages lacing together and peppering my vocabulary. From many houses turned into many homes, always with the same TV background noise.

I am from purple honeysuckle and sour grasses, the sweet and bitter tastes often co-mingling on my tongue.

I am from a long line of strong women who loved loudly and gave their all to their children. I am from my abuelita Digna and great grandmother Mama Lola, but most of all from my own enduring mama.

From being loved as high as the sky and as big as the world; and from spankings designed to give me something to cry about.

I am from Lucky, our German Shepard bought at the San Jose flea market for $25, and quickly surpassing his net-worth. No other pets could live up to him, although we loved each and every one, even the tadpoles.

I am from visits to the library and visits to the bookstore, a love affair with words gifted to me from my family.

From God. From the Catholic church, the Episcopal church, Christianity, and moments of doubt.

I am from the cliche of two worlds, raised on hot dog in my scrambled eggs and pupusas from the corner Salvadorean market.

I am from albums with fading pictures and dried out glue, closets full of forgotten mementos, and memories from lives long lived. I am stories told to my future children in the hopes of giving them more than just my blood.

I had a lot of fun with this Writing Me prompt, found on the Bigger Pictures Blog. It’s part of their Simple Moments, Bigger Picture weekly exercises and the template can be found here.

4 Responses

  1. Pure poetry. My two favorites parts are the loving tribute to the women in your family and the closing…
    I am stories told to my future children in the hopes of giving them more than just my blood.

    What a gift that is!

    Hope you’ll come back Th and link to the Bigger Picture.

    • Thank you May. All the pieces I read were so unique and inspiring. It’s a really great writing prompt.

  2. I loved this! It was so beautiful and I loved how you mixed in the two languages just as I imagine i was in your life. Thank you for joining us!

    • Thank you for your comment Melissa!

Leave a Reply

