The Moment

There is a moment before she wakes, when the sun begins creeping through the blinds and the dog hasn’t yet found his voice whining to be let out. It’s the few seconds she allows me to hold her in my arms as I lean in and smell the scent of her hair, perfume to a mother’s nose.

In that morning spell my heart breaks for the girl I know, the woman I will one day meet. Everything I want for her sits in my heart and the weight of motherhood feeds into my anxiety. I close my eyes and send up a prayer for the both of us, willing myself to stillness.

Her eyes open. Our day begins.

ETA 10-26-11: I’m linking up with One Month of MOMents at My 3 Little Birds Blog.

6 Responses

  1. How absolutely beautiful and bittersweet. Thank you so much for sharing this with us at My 3 Little Birds.

    • Thank you for the opportunity to share!

  2. This is really beautiful. Your images and details had me right there with you. Lovely post.

    • Thank you for your comment! Hope you are having a great night. 🙂

  3. Wow. This was beautiful. I know this moment well, and you described it magnificently. Perfect!

  4. […] MOMent that spoke to me most this week was Susie’s from Write from Grace. It’s simply beautiful. Susie, I know you’ll love your $25 gift […]

Leave a Reply

